Archive, Industry News

NSW names Transport Advisory Board members

Group to provide high level advice on strategic transport planning and delivery of transport projects and initiatives

July 5, 2012

The New South Wales Government’s new Transport Advisory Board has plenty of general business, rail, infrastructure and bureaucratic experience but appears bereft of hands-on road freight expertise.

Transport Minister Gladys Berejiklian and Roads and Ports Minister Duncan Gay unveiled the five-member board, which will advise ministers and Transport for NSW on transport issues.

“The Transport Advisory Board will provide high level advice on strategic transport planning, delivery of transport projects and initiatives to ensure customers are being considered at the centre of transport planning and service delivery,” Gay says.

The board members are:

  • Tim Besley, the
    current Chairman of the Science and Engineering Challenge Council with the University of Newcastle and has previously held roles as Chairman of Leighton Holdings, Commonwealth Bank and Wheat Export Authority
  • Paul Forward, who has held executive roles with a range of organisations including the former RTA. He is currently a Principal of infrastructure and resources consultancy Evans and Peck
  • Brendan Lyon, the current CEO of Infrastructure Partnerships Australia who holds various positions on Infrastructure and High Speed Rail advisory boards
  • Andrea Staines, who
    currently holds non-executive director positions with QR National and North Queensland Airports, was on the board of ARTC and was CEO of Australian Airlines
  • Les Wielinga, the Director General of Transport for NSW.

Bookmark and Share

Previous ArticleNext Article
  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend