Archive, Industry News

NSW FTAC appoints new members

Duncan Gay to chair the new body that also includes Craig Carmody, Geoffrey Crouch and Warren Clark

Fifteen members have been appointed to the new NSW Freight Transport Advisory Council (FTAC).

Duncan Gay has been appointed chair of the newly established council that provides advice to regional transport and roads minister on the coordination and multi-modal planning, regulation, development and operation of freight transport, infrastructure and network services across NSW.

Current minister for regional transport and roads Sam Farraway welcomes the inaugural members and the incoming chair on their recent appointment.

“The new appointees come from a wide cross-section of industry, including road and rail bodies, intermodal operators, port representatives, couriers, retailers and producers,” Farraway says.

“The new body will not only discuss freight and supply chain issues, but provide input into government strategies, policies and projects.

“The wealth of industry leadership and experience on the council will mean better outcomes for the freight sector, which is expected to increase by 28 per cent to see 618 million tonnes moving across our state by 2036.”

The ministerial advisory council replaces the Freight and Logistics Advisory Council and the Road Freight Industry Council to report to the regional transport and roads minister.

“I am honoured to be appointed as inaugural chair and look forward to giving the entire freight industry a united voice that will help inform NSW government policy as freight demand continues to rise,” Gay says.

The new council will meet four times a year, with the first meeting to be held in June.

New appointees will remain on the council for a term of two years.

Other appointees include:

  • Port of Newcastle – Craig Carmody
  • National Road Transport Association (NatRoad) – Warren Clark
  • Ron Crouch Transport – Geoffrey Crouch
  • Woolworth Group – Rick Dani
  • Qube – Paul Digney
  • Ports Australia – Michael Gallacher
  • Freight on Rail Group – Andrew Harding
  • Namoi Cotton – Allan Neil Johns
  • Livestock Bulk and Rural Carriers Association (LBRCA) – Paul Pulver
  • Road Freight NSW – Austin Vella
  • Monidale VGL – Scott Walker
  • Australasian Railway Association – Caroline Wilkie
  • Australian Logistics Council – Brad Williams

For more information regarding FTAC, click here.


Previous ArticleNext Article
Send this to a friend