Archive, Industry News

LRTAQ AGM sees Johnson retain presidency

ALRTA welcomes result amid Queensland association’s 40th anniversary


The Australian (ALRTA) has congratulates Gerard Johnson on being re-elected president of the Queensland branch.

Johnson was re-elected at the Livestock and Rural Transporters’ Association Queensland (LRTAQ) annual meeting, coinciding with the body’s recent annual conference.

The senior members of the LRTAQ executive now include:

  • President: Gerard Johnson
  • VP Bulk: Mark Collins
  • VP Livestock: John Rogers
  • Treasurer: Patrice Willoughby
  • Secretary: Gary Willoughby
  • Immediate past president: Ian Wild

ALRTA acknowledged the vote of thanks given to outgoing treasurer Ron Patel for his years of service to the association.

It came as ALRTA executive director Mat Munro travelled to Roma in southwest Queensland for the LRTAQ Conference.

How Johnson became LRTAQ president, here

“The timing of the event was a stroke of luck after having once previously being postponed due to COVID and the re-introduction of border restrictions again this week,” the association noted in a communique.

“Thankfully the event was able to go ahead to mark the 40th anniversary of the Queensland association.

“The conference was very well attended with delegates hearing from prominent speakers including the federal Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport Scott Buchholz MP, Quensland Senator Susan McDonald, QLD shadow minister for transport and main roads Steve Minnikin and mayor Sean Dillon.

“It wasn’t all work though with some serious competition at the clay pigeon shoot, a few great trips down memory lane and the legendary Bull Carter’s Ball.” 

ALRTA congratulated Damien Swalling on winning the 2021 Young Person in Transport Award and also the recipients of honorary life memberships, including Ian and Fiona Wild, Mick Curley, Evol Opperman and George Johnston.


Previous ArticleNext Article
Send this to a friend