Archive, Industry News

Keenan takes reins as ALRTA president

New executive team will tackle RSRT’s draft order first up


A new executive team is now in place at the Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA).

Victorian owner driver Kevin Keenan has assumed the role of national president, effective today.

Graeme Hoare, from New South Wales, and Stephen Marley, from Western Australia, have been named joint vice presidents of the association; Queensland’s Ron Pattel is its new treasurer; and John Beer, from Victoria, will handle the role of secretary.

David Smith, from South Australia, will continue as the ALRTA’s representative on the Australian Trucking Association board.

All roles are for one year only, and were elected at the organisation’s recent annual meeting.

Immediate past president (now) Grant Robins says Keenan will do an excellent job leading ALRTA.

“Being national president of a federated association is a challenging role,” he says. You can’t do it without the support of all six member states.

“I congratulate Kevin on his unanimous election to this position and wish him every success during his term.”

Likewise, Keenan celebrated Robins’ achievements as president.

“I thank Grant for his passion and hard work over the past year and acknowledge his successes with our national ramps guide, fatigue management template, 160km work diary exemption, ABS braking exemption, and the TruckCare-TruckSafe merger.”

On the agenda for the new president will be the Road Safety Remuneration Tribunal’s draft order, which ALRTA believes will be “unworkable” in practice.

Previous ArticleNext Article
  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend