David Smith becomes the new ATA chair

D&S Smith Haulage director elected as Davidson and Smith-Gander join board

David Smith becomes the new ATA chair
David Smith


David Smith, the managing director of South Australia-based D&S Smith Haulage, is also the newly elected chair of the Australian Trucking Association (ATA).

Smith was voted in at the organisation’s annual general meeting today. 

He has worked in the transport industry for more than 40 years as a driver, business owner and leader of various associations and committees. 

Smith has been a member of the ATA board since 2016 alongside his role as president of the Livestock and Rural Transporters Association of South Australia (LRTASA), and former president of the Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA).

"I thank my predecessor, Geoff Crouch, for his leadership and advancement of the ATA agenda during his three-year term, as well as the ATA board and council for their support," Smith says in a statement. 

"As new chair of the ATA, I look forward to working with our members and industry as we work collaboratively to improve trucking’s safety, professionalism and viability."

More on Smith's leadership of his South Australian firm, here

Other new board appointments from the meeting include Scott Davidson and Craig Smith-Gander. 

Davidson is the managing director of QMC Logistics and chair of the National Road Transport Association (NatRoad), having joined the board in 2014.

Smith-Gander is the owner of Perth-based Kwik Transport and Crane Hire and chair of Western Roads Federation (WRF), the ATA’s Western Australian state member association.

Meanwhile, Andrew Garrety was re-elected as the ATA’s treasurer/secretary, a role he has held since 2014. 

Smith’s election followed the retirement of Geoff Crouch, who remains a member of the ATA board and its council. 

Other retirements from the ATA board include Kathy Williams and Geoff Luff. 

Williams joined the board in 1999, chaired ATA from 2000-2002 and was treasurer until 2014. 

"Kathy led the development of the ATA’s national headquarters building in Canberra and played a critical role in saving the on-road diesel grant, now fuel tax credits," ATA notes.

"Under her guidance, the ATA’ s safety accreditation program, TruckSafe, was developed into an individual entity. 

"Kathy’s work was recognised by the industry with its National Outstanding Contribution Award in 2006.

"She was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2015 for her many years of service to the industry and the community." 

Geoff Luff is a director of metro and interstate courier Border Express and joined the ATA board in 2017.

"I thank Kathy and Geoff for their outstanding contributions to the ATA and hold the utmost respect for their dedication to industry," Smith says.

The National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) was quick to congratulate Smith on his appointment and says it looks forward to working with him in his new role.

"Our organisation has worked closely with David in the past, particularly in his work as a strong advocate for the Australian and South Australian livestock industry," NHVR chair Duncan Gay says.

"He brings a unique and experienced outlook when it comes to tackling some of the key issues facing heavy vehicle transport and together we’ve delivered some important outcomes.

"I know that he will bring the same motivation, spirit of cooperation and innovation into his new role as ATA chair.

"I’d also like to thank outgoing chair Geoff Crouch for his support of the heavy vehicle industry over the past three years. 

"Geoff has been a strong advocate across heavy vehicle safety and has been willing to engage and discuss the NHVR’s reform agenda and I wish him well for the future."


You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire