CILTA awards ticks for Nortrans, NHVR and Qantas

Bartrop is woman of the year and Kent Battle gains young professional gong

CILTA awards ticks for Nortrans, NHVR and Qantas
The CILTA award winners


Nortrans, the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) and Qantas all scored well in the recent Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport Australia (CILTA) Annual Awards for Excellence.

Heavy freight and logistics firm Nortrans picked up the award for woman of the year, going to Jodie Bartrop through her efforts with the NuFarm contract and her 30 years of dedication in the industry.

Kent Battle, for his work on the large Hume’s  Numurkah solar project was awarded Young Transport Professional, sponsored by MoveBank , and Nortrans itself picked up the excellence in moving freight award for the operation and innovation exhibited in the 50-year CIG/BOC contract.

The Safety award was jointly won by the not-for-profit Road Sense and by the NHVR for the implementation of the PBS scheme. PBS was also a runner up for the moving freight award.

Qantas picked up the excellence award for passenger innovation with their Perth - London, and the two-trial New York and London to Sydney Dreamliner services.  

Sydney Metro was the runners up in this field with their autonomous rail services to Chatswood in Sydney's North West.

The inaugural freight brokerage, forwarding and cargo management award was won by 3DL for their international brokerage services which have grown exponentially over the last three years.

Read about the long, award-winning link between Nortrans and BOC, here

"In most categories this was the strongest set of entries CILT-Australia has witnessed over the last decade, giving our judging panel several headaches, which is how it should be," CILTA chair Kim Hassall says.

"This is not just a matter of self-promotion, but an important standard setter for transport and logistics in Australia. And a benchmark internationally."

The full awardees list is:

MoveBank Young Professional of the Year  

Winner:  Kent Battle

Finalists: Clair Leets, Harvey Delos Santos

Professional Woman of Logistics and Transport

Winner: Jodie Bartrop - NLW

Finalists: Samantha Martin-Williams, Nicole Lockwood

Excellence and Innovation in Moving Freight

Winner:  Rodney and Kent Battle, Nortrans and BOC

Finalists: Queensland Freight Movement, NHVR

Excellence and Innovation in Safety

Dual Winners: Road Sense, NHVR

Excellence and Innovation within Licensed Customs Broker / Trade and Tariff consultants

Winner: Chris Roberts - 3DL

Finalist: Cargo Connect

Excellence and Innovation in Moving People

Winner: Qantas

Finalist: Sydney Metro


You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire