NatRoad announces changes to board of directors

Three new board members welcomed as four step down

NatRoad announces changes to board of directors
Melissa Strong


Melissa Strong, Tom Richers and Troy Cook have been appointed to the National Road Transport Association (NatRoad) board of directors.

They replace Allan Thornley, Melanie Cosgrove, Steve Fieldus and Michael Murrell, who have stepped down from their positions.

"We are pleased to welcome the new directors to the NatRoad Board," NatRoad CEO Warren Clark says.

"The knowledge and skills of our new board members will help the association in delivering improvements to efficiency, safety and sustainability within the industry."

Strong is safety, people and culture manager at Lindsay Australia.

"Melissa has been working with Lindsay Australia Limited for the past 11 years and currently manages a team of seven women who cover recruitment, quality and auditing, safety and workers compensation, employee relations, reception and marketing. Melissa together with her team works to influence positive change throughout the group, and industry," NatRoad says.

Tom Richers is operations manager of Richers Transport.

"Richers started his career in the industry as an apprentice diesel mechanic at the age of 16. Combined with Tom’s driving experience, and a wealth of management achievement at several Richers sites, Tom has an all-rounded vision to support him as the Richers Transport’s operations manager," NatRoad says.

Cook is transport manager at Divall’s Earthmoving and Bulk Haulage.

"With over 16 years’ experience in the road transport industry, Troy currently manages the fleet and the workshop/trade functions of  Divall's Earthmoving & Bulk Haulage, Goulburn. Troy has a vast knowledge of compliance and maintenance legislations and works closely with drivers and workshop manager to enable the smooth scheduling of the fleet."

Read about NatRoad's new transport careers website, here

NatRoad chair Scott Davidson notes: "NatRoad will benefit from the unique experiences and vision they bring to the association.

"In welcoming our incoming board members, I am confident the proud traditions and legacy of all those that have served before will be upheld by the new generation."

The NatRoad board now consists of the following nine members:

  • Scott Davidson, QMC Logistics
  • Alan Magill, A & R Magill 
  • Leslie Milne, Yatana 
  • Kellie Boland, Boland Transport Services
  • Maggie Welsh, Welsh Freight Services
  • Michael Kennedy, Tantusk 
  • Melissa Strong, Lindsay Australia
  • Tom Richers, Richers Transport
  • Troy Cook, Divall’s Earthmoving and Bulk Haulage.


You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook