Walsh and Manning re-commissioned for ATSB

Both Australian Transport Safety Bureau commissioner appointments extended by two years

Walsh and Manning re-commissioned for ATSB
NTCchair Carolyn Walsh


National Transport Commission chair Carolyn Walsh and former chief pilot for Qantas Chris Manning have been reappointed as commissioners of the Australian Transport Safety Bureau for two years.

Walsh, who was made chair of the NTC earlier this year, is a former chief executive of the NSW Independent Transport Safety and Reliability Regulator and executive director of the office of the coordinator general of rail.

Manning has over 40 years’ experience in the aviation industry and chaired the Australian Aviation Associations’ Forum from 2008 to 2015.

Deputy Prime Minister Michael McCormack, in announcing the appointments, praised the expertise of both appointments.

"I look forward to working with CASA and the ATSB to ensure Australia’s transport safety systems continue to meet world’s-best-practice standards," he said.

Both Walsh and Manning were appointed commissioners of the ATSB in 2015, joining chief commissioner Greg Hood and Noel Hart in making up the Bureau’s governing body.


You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook