Nominations open for industry awards

Australian Trucking Association says it is time to award hardworking members of the transport industry

Nominations open for industry awards
2015 Don Watson Award winner Paul 'Harro' Harrison with ATA Chair Noelene Watson.


Looking to recognise the achievements of individuals and organisations in the transport industry, the Australian Trucking Association (ATA) is opening the nominations for the 2016 National Trucking Industry Awards.

"The National Trucking Industry Awards are our opportunity to acknowledge the hard work going on behind the scenes in the trucking industry, and give our quiet heroes the credit they deserve," ATA CEO Christopher Melham says.

"As an industry, we have a great number of dedicated, passionate people who go the extra mile to make sure Australia’s goods are moved in a safe, professional manner.

"But despite working long hours and overcoming great challenges, they often don’t put themselves forward for reward or recognition."

Closing in March, the awards awaiting nominations are the Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry, the National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year, and the National Professional Driver of the Year.

Presented in June as part of the industry body’s Trucking Australia 2016 event, Melham says there are prizes to be won alongside the awards, including an international package up for grabs.

"If you know someone who deserves to be acknowledged for their efforts on behalf of the industry, I urge you to take the time to nominate them at," he says.

The Trucking Australia 2016 event will be held on the Gold Coast, with the awards, including the Don Watson Memorial Award and the TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award, to be presented at the gala dinner.


ATA-awards -2015

2015 National Trucking Award winners from L-R: Aaron Busk, Heather Jones, Lisa Acret, Jim Pearson, Julie Russell, Paul 'Harro' Harrison, Phil Berger.


Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry:

Heather Jones, Pilbara Heavy Haulage Girls

National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year:

Julie Russell, RB Russell Transport

National Professional Driver of the Year:

Aaron Busk, Tytec Logistics

Don Watson Memorial Award:

Paul ‘Harro’ Harrison, Paul Harrison Transport

TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award:

Jim Pearson Transport


You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook