Top industry representatives converge on Canberra

TruckWeek effort sees major industry concerns raised with decision-makers

Top industry representatives converge on Canberra
Federal Parliament is facing a strong industry presence


Perhaps not since the Convoy of No Confidence almost exactly three years ago has the trucking industry sought to bring its weight to bear so much on Canberra.

But while the Convoy sought to provide heft through vehicles and drivers, today’s Australian Trucking Association-led TruckWeek effort relies on representation, seniority and expertise.

The two-day initiative harnesses 13 top national and state officeholders aiming to take industry concerns.

The delegation will meet political leaders including the deputy prime minister and infrastructure and regional development  minister Warren Truss, industry minister Ian Macfarlane, environment minister Greg Hunt, shadow treasurer Chris Bowen and shadow infrastructure and transport minister Anthony Albanese.

Key issues to be discussed include the ATA’s call for the adoption of electronic braking systems, heavy vehicle charging, chain of responsibility, the establishment of a road freight advisory council, and the Productivity Commission inquiry into public infrastructure.

ATA chair Noelene Watson says it is essential to work with policy makers to continue improving safety and viability in the trucking industry.

"Trucks carry more than 70 per cent of Australia’s domestic freight, including every item on the shelves of the supermarket," Watson says.

"Making sure that these goods are transported in a safe and professional way is our highest priority.

"With the freight task set to increase, we need to work together to make sure we can continue to improve our industry’s safety record and provide timely, efficient transport services into the future."

The delegation consists of:

  • ATA chair Noelene Watson
  • ATA vice chair Tim Knowles
  • ATA vice chair and NatRoad President Geoff Crouch
  • Immediate past ATA chair David Simon
  • Australian Furniture Removers Association president Andrew Garrety
  • ATA director Mike Almond
  • ATA director Matt Butler
  • ATA director Gordon Martin
  • ATA director Austin Vella
  • Acting Queensland Trucking Association president Roz Shaw
  • ATANSW policy council chair Jon Luff
  • South Australian Road Transport Association president Sharon Middleton
  • Victorian Transport Association president Brendan Hopley.

You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire