Nominations open for National Trucking Industry Awards

Awards across four categories will be presented in June to recognise the trucking industry’s high achievers

Nominations open for National Trucking Industry Awards
New award: ATA Chairman David Simon says the National Training Excellence Award will focus on a different topic each year.


A new gong has been added to this year’s National Trucking Industry Awards, which are now open for nominations.

The Australian Trucking Association (ATA), which organises the awards, has added the National Training Excellence Award to the list of categories.

The awards, which recognise industry excellence, include the Driver of the Year prize, along with Outstanding Contribution and Woman of the Year categories.  

"The National Trucking Industry Awards allow the industry to salute those who have worked hard, had the brilliant ideas, developed something new or shown exceptional dedication to the industry and their community," ATA Chairman David Simon says.

"The new National Training Excellence Award will recognise and encourage businesses that use and develop effective programs to minimise risk for their workforce.

"This award will reward excellence in a different safety topic each year. In 2014, it will focus on the critically important issues of truck rollover prevention and appropriate speed for the conditions."

Nominations must be received by April 28. The awards will be announced on June 7at a gala dinner during the Trucking Australia convention.

The Don Watson Memorial Award and the TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award will also be presented on the night.

Those wishing to nominate someone can click here.

The Outstanding Contribution Award acknowledges the commitment of an individual or organisation to improving the trucking industry. The 2013 award went to Johnstons Transport's Mike Moylan.

Sharon Middleton from Whiteline Transport took home the 2013 Woman of the Year Award, which recognises the contribution of a woman within the trucking industry.

Robert Schalkwyk from EnergyTrans received last year’s Professional Driver of the Year Award.

Like ATN on Facebook

Follow ATN on Twitter

You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire