Truss appoints new NTC commissioners

Fresh faces face first commission meeting next month

Truss appoints new NTC commissioners
Truss has appointed new commissioners to the NTC

Five new commissioners have been appointed at the National Transport Commission (NTC) to work on the national transport reform.

Selected by Deputy Prime Minister Warren Truss, they began their term this month.

The board includes David Anderson as Chair, Carolyn Walsh as Deputy Chair, and Nola Bransgrove, Mike Mrdak and Norm Mcllfatrick as commissioners.

NTC Chief Executive and fellow commissioner Paul Retter says he is looking forward to working with the commissioners and utilising their experience to advance the NTC’s work program.

"The new commissioners will bring a wealth of expert industry knowledge and public sector experience from a state, national and international level," Retter says.

"I am confident that we can work together with our stakeholders to bring about real and positive change for the Australian transport sector."

The commissioners have been appointed for a three-year term.

They are due to attend their first NTC Commission meeting in Melbourne in February.

Anderson, a former CEO of VicRoads, is an independent consultant on transport and infrastructure issues and projects to private companies, Australian transport jurisdictions and to the Prime Minister and senior Minister of the Government of East Timor.

Walsh is currently a Commissioner at the Australian Transport Safety Bureau and is a member of a number of NSW Government agency audit and risk committees. She also provides consultancy services in safety and risk management.

She was previously the Chief Executive of the Independent Transport Safety and Reliability Regulator and Executive Director of the Office of the Coordinator General of Rail.

A joint owner of Branstrans Transport, Bransgrove has played an instrumental role in the development of TruckSafe and was awarded a Medal of Order of Australia for services to the transport and logistics industry in 2012.

She chairs the Transport and Distribution Industry Training Broad (TDT) Victoria and Women in Supply Chain, and was previously a councillor of Traralgon Shire.

Mrdak is currently the Secretary of the Commonwealth Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development, and has previously held senior positions across this portfolio, including the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Mcllfatrick is currently State Secretary of the Tasmanian Department of Infrastructure, Energy and Resources.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the ATN e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire