Brisbane Isuzu mechanic named Apprentice of Yr

Christian Wyatt of Brisbane Isuzu named Apprentice of the Year at CVIAQ Annual Dinner and Awards Night on Saturday night

Brisbane Isuzu mechanic named Apprentice of Yr
Brisbane Isuzu mechanic named Apprentice of Yr
November 15, 2011

Christian Wyatt of Brisbane Isuzu was named Apprentice of the Year at the CVIAQ Annual Dinner and Awards Night held on Saturday night.

The dinner was sponsored by Trader Business Media, publisher of Australasian Bus & Coach, Australasian Transport News, Deals on Wheels, Owner//Driver and SupplyChain Review.

Wyatt, who is due to complete his Certificate 3 in Automotive Mechanical Technology at the Brisbane-based Isuzu dealer, received an Apple IPad2 and tools to the combined value of $2,000. The prizes were sponsored by Warby Tools and National Transport Insurance.

In addition to Wyatt receiving his award, Pete Kenny, Group Service Manager for Brisbane Isuzu, was on hand to receive the inaugural CVIAQ Apprentice of the Year perpetual trophy for the employer.

Kenny was full of praise for his apprentice adding that he finally brought home the gold for Brisbane Isuzu, a regular contender for the award. The perpetual trophy is an initiative of the CVIAQ board of directors to acknowledge the dedicated effort of employers in the training of their apprentices. The perpetual trophy will be on display at Brisbane Isuzu for the twelve months between awards.

The CVIAQ Apprentice of the Year Award is an annual award open to apprentices in the final stages of their training from the heavy vehicle repair, service and manufacturing sectors. The award, now in its thirtieth year, is held in high regard by industry.

High Achievement Awards were presented to Daniel Dull of Cummins South Pacific/TORGAS and Anthony Mainas of Volvo Group Australia.

Additionally, Certificates of Merit were awarded to Aaron Mason-Jeffs, Drake Trailers/Apprenticeships Queensland; Jordan Welsh, Mercedes Benz Commercial Vehicles Rocklea/TORGAS; Curtis Mulvena, SVM Queensland; Lloyd Huchison, Volvo Group Australia; while Certificates of Recognition were awarded to Thomas Defelice, ATB Engineering; and Christopher Jackson, Cummins South Pacific/TORGAS.

The awards were announced by CVIAQ board member and Service Manager Council Chairman, John Edwards of Hastings Deering (Australia). During the presentation he thanked the efforts of the judging panel comprising Bob Martin (Jost Australia and CVIAQ President), Chris Kroehn (SkillsTech Australia) and Melanie O’Toole (Automotive Skills Queensland).

The CVIAQ Charity Dinner Organising Committee was also recognised with an Industry Recognition Award to commemorate its 10 years of fundraising with the Leukaemia Foundation. The committee, comprising Mark Johnston (Haulmark Trailers), Chris Musch (Isuzu Australia), Sharon O’Phee (O’Phee Trailers), Glen Lewis (Vital Training) and Mark Strambi (Manheim Fowles Auction Group), has raised close to $1 million over the decade to assist the foundation in its ongoing research into a cure for leukaemia, lymphoma and other related blood diseases.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the ATN e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire