Supply chain awards finalists announced

Finalists for 2011 Australian Supply Chain and Logistics Awards announced ahead of landmark event on November 11

October 4, 2011

Finalists for the 2011 Australian Supply Chain and Logistics Awards have been announced ahead of the event on November 11.

The ASCLA is the longest-running national awards program in the industry. Having served the industry for more than 50 years, they are the most-recognised and esteemed awards for an individual, or company to be awarded. With record submissions this year the quality of the finalists is outstanding.

Supply Chain Management Award

The aim of this award is to encourage and acknowledge the outstanding achievement of an organisation that has demonstrated significant achievement in managing the integration of supply chains. The trophy was first awarded in 1984 and is dedicated to Doug Beattie.

Finalists are:

  • Bestrane Group and Westfield Sydney
  • Bing Lee and Paperless Warehousing in partnership with InterDev and Gamma Solutions
  • Nestle Australia
  • Salad Fresh
  • Santos and Toll Energy
  • Schenker Australia
  • Super Retail Group
  • Waste Contractors & Recyclers Association of Queensland (WCRAQ)
  • Woodside Energy.

Training, Education & Development Award

To be presented to the company or institution that best demonstrates a significant achievement in aspects such as recruitment process, training, HR systems, formal education and development programs which is both relevant to and promotes the supply chain and logistics industry. The trophy was first awarded in 2002 and is dedicated to the late Professor Peter Gilmour.

Finalists are:

  • Department of Transport WA
  • Mt Gravatt Coach & Travel
  • Press Logistics Group
  • TDT Victoria
  • University of Wollongong-Sydney Business School
  • Women Take the Wheel–Department of Transport and Main Roads Alliance.

Storage & Handling of Materials Award

This award recognises the significant achievements in the techniques and technology of materials storage and handling at any stage of the supply chain. Technology covers equipment and design techniques, including facilities design, and associated information and control systems. The trophy was first awarded in 1980 and is dedicated to Dexion’s founder, Demetrius Comino.

Finalists are:

  • COVS Parts
  • Nestle Australia.

Environmental Excellence Award

This award recognises corporate leadership contributing to the solution of environmental sustainability within our industry through performance and action. The trophy was first awarded in 1966 and is dedicated to Ken Pike.

Finalists are:

  • AWH Logistics
  • Central Queensland Intermodal Logistics Hub Lobby Group
  • Oxford Cold Storage
  • Schenker Australia
  • Strategix Training Group – Eco Drive
  • Waste Contractors & Recyclers Association of Queensland (WCRAQ).

Information Management Award

This award will go to the business that can best demonstrate it has made a significant achievement in the application of information technology within its supply chain. The trophy was first awarded in 1994 and is dedicated to the late Len Smith.

Finalists are:

  • Grays Online
  • Fremantle Ports
  • The Just Group.

Industry Excellence Award

This prestigious award recognises and acknowledges the outstanding achievements and contribution by an individual currently working within the transport, supply chain and logistics Industry. The judges will be looking for individuals who have demonstrated vision and leadership, shows innovation and not afraid to take risks. This trophy was first awarded in 1987 and is dedicated to Mike Munns.

Finalists are:

  • Jason Barclay, Manager Supply Chain and Logistics Development, Bluescope Steel
  • Ian Cocup, Senior Inventory and Procurement Supervisor, Stanwell Corporation
  • Mary Goodwin, Strategic Procurement Specialist, Stanwell Corporation
  • Allan Jones, Member of Consulting Staff, Jacobs Australia
  • Ian Lovell, State President, Refrigerated Warehouse & Transport Association
  • Paul McHugh, Queensland Committee Member, Supply Chain & Logistics Association of Australia
  • Tony Nichols, Distribution Centre Manager, Toll in2store
  • David Pierce, Director, Helicopter Logistics, Defence Material Organisation
  • Rick Ralph, Executive Director, Waste Contractors & Recyclers Association of Queensland.

Future Leaders Award

The purpose of this award is to provide incentive and recognition to young professionals who are working in and wish to continue their career path within the transport, supply chain and logistics Industry.

Finalists are:

  • Daniel Bull, Branch Manager Kewdale Operations, Mitchell Corp Australia
  • Matthew Cameron-Gardner, General Manager Business Development, Innovation Interactive Asia Pacific
  • Ryan Falconer, Senior Transport Planner, Arup
  • Nikki Hasicevic, Procurement Coordinator, Snap Fresh
  • Megan Kelly, Business Engagement Coordinator – iMX Project, Woodside Energy
  • Tristan Marshall, Manager, Pack & Send East Perth
  • James Nash, Business Development Manager Toll Group
  • Karan Sikand, Supply Chain Logistics Analyst, Schweppes Australia
  • Amy Vassallo, Senior Service Planner, Public Transport Authority of WA.

The winners of the 2011 Australian Supply Chain and Logistics Awards will be announced at a gala dinner on Friday, November 11 at the Burswood Entertainment Complex, Western Australia.

The 2011 ASCL Awards are proudly supported by Loscam, SupplyChain Review, Automotive Holdings Group, AMCAP, APC Storage, CEVA Logistics, Curtin University, Dematic, Rand, Strategix Training Group, VisiPro, COVS, KTM Sports Motorcycles, RMIT University, Schenker, Subaru, Supply Chain Services Australia, Toyota Autoparts and Toyota Materials Handling.

To book your tickets or corporate table for the event contact or phone 1300 364 160.

You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire