Former treasurer to head Newcastle Coal

Former NSW Treasurer appointed the new chairman of the Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group

July 5, 2010

Former NSW Treasurer Michael Egan has been appointed the new chairman of the Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group.

Egan replaces Tiny Galligan, who has chaired the consortium since 2007.

Galligan will remain on the NCIG board representing Whitehaven Coal, which is part of the group made up of coal producers.

He says Egan brings a wealth experience to the board to meet the challenge of retaining the Port of Newcastle’s mantle as the world’s largest coal exporter.

"As the longest-serving treasurer in our state’s history Michael Egan has an unrivalled perspective on the importance of enabling infrastructure like NCIG to the future prosperity of NSW," Galligan says.

Egan served as the treasurer from 1995 to 2005 and is currently the chancellor of Macquarie University. He has also held the development and energy portfolios and was the government leader in the Legislative Council.

Egan also chairs the Centenary Institute of Cancer Medicine and Cell Biology, the Australian Fisheries Management Authority Commission and the NSW Australia Day Council.

Formed in 2004, the NCIG’s membership includes BHP Billiton, Centennial Coal, Donaldson Coal, Felix Resources, Peabody Energy and Whitehaven Coal.

You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire