Trucking industry stalwarts recognised with Order of Australia awards

By: Jason Whittaker

Viv Hanley, Brian Bertwistle and Andrew Wright have all been appointed as Members of the Order of Australia in recognition

Viv Hanley, Brian Bertwistle and Andrew Wright have all been appointed as Members of the Order of Australia in recognition of their services to the trucking industry.

The Australian Trucking Association (ATA) says the awards recognise the pivotal work all three have done in pushing the industry forward.

ATA Chairman Trevor Martyn congratulated the winners, adding he is "delighted" they have been recognised for their efforts.

"These are the kinds of people who push our industry forward. They represent the calibre of the people that work within our industry, and that is something in which we can all be proud," Martyn says.

Hanley has been the Executive Director of the Australian Furniture Removers Association since 1998, a position in which he has continued to carry out a number of training initiatives and contributions to improving industry standards. During his time at the Australian Furniture Removers Association, Hanley produced a training manual for the removal industry.

Hanley was also an executive member of the NSW Road Transport Association for 25 years.

Bertwistle, Former Executive Director of Corporate Services at Toll North, was recognised his support for educational programs and driver and vehicle safety initiatives such as the ATA’s TruckSafe program. His Order of Australia award adds to the ATA’s Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry award, which he was awarded in 2005.

During his 49-year career in the trucking industry, Bertwistle founded the Young People in Transport, a section of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport. Furthermore, he was also founder and chairman of the Careers Forum, which aims to introduce certificate level transport training into high schools.

Prior to being honoured with the Order of Australia, Wright was inducted into the Transport Hall of Fame in 2005. He was also the managing director of PACCAR Australia when the company won Victorian Employer of the Year in 2007.

Martyn says all three have left an indelible mark on the transport industry because of their dedication.

"Their enthusiasm and commitment to improving the industry through innovative training programs, higher safety and technical standards, and promoting Australian products in international markets has positively shaped our future," Martyn says.

"The ATA network is delighted that the hard work of these people has been recognised. We thank them and congratulate them on receiving this accolade."

You can also follow our updates by joining our LinkedIn group or liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire