Archive, Industry News

Gay to chair NHVR as Lay also joins board

Former NSW roads minister and Victorian police commissioner to replace Baird and Tremaine


Duncan Gay and Ken Lay have been appointed to the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) board.

Gay will chair the regulator for the next three years, succeeding Bruce Baird – who helped establish the NHVR – at the helm, with Lay replacing board member Vincent Tremaine.

Federal transport minister Michael McCormack and Queensland transport minister Mark Bailey revealed the new members, who will join next month when their predecessors’ contracts expire.

A former small trucking company owner, Gay was the New South Wales Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight from April 2015 to January 2017 and in the state’s Legislative Council from 1988 until last year.

“All state and territory ministers have unanimously agreed Mr Gay is ideally suited to provide leadership as Chair of the NHVR Board, over the next three years ,” McCormack says.

“Mr Gay is well respected in the heavy vehicle industry and across governments, particularly in NSW where he successfully served in roads and transport portfolios during his three-decades-long career.”

wait times.png

Lay, meanwhile, is the current Victorian lieutenant-governor and former policechief commissioner.

“Mr Lay served in Victoria Police for almost 40 years and is currently serving on several boards including as Chair of the Council of Australian Government’s Advisory Council on Family Violence,” Bailey says.

McCormack thanks the departing Baird and Tremaine for their contributions to the NHVR.

“I would like to thank Bruce Baird AM, for his service over six years, which included establishing the NHVR and setting its strategic direction,” he says.

“Mr Baird has overseen a great deal of positive change for the heavy vehicle industry and after overcoming many early challenges.

“I’d also thank Vincent Tremaine for his counsel and advice during his six-year term on the NHVR board, providing continuity and stability to the board and the NHVR.”

Bailey confirmed “the NHVR board membership will be staggered over the 2018-2021 period to provide for a smooth transition to new membership”, adding that deputy chair Peter Garske, along with board members Coral Taylor and Robin Stewart-Crompton, will remain in their current roles.


Previous ArticleNext Article
Send this to a friend