Australia, Transport News

Freight industrys best and brightest celebrated in style at national awards

The Palladium Room at Crown Casino was the place to be on Saturday night as the winners of the 2023 Australian Freight Industry Awards were announced

Former Victorian Transport Association relationship manager Kevin Halpin was named Personality of the Year to round out a series of seven coveted awards when the who’s who of the freight industry gathered for their night of nights on Saturday.

The 33rd Australian Freight Industry Awards drew a strong crowd to a black-tie gala event held at the Palladium Room at Crown Casino to celebrate the past 12 months in the industry.

This year’s event, backed by major sponsors TWUSUPER and Viva Energy Australia, attracted a record number of applications with finalists shortlisted across a range of categories.

The winners were:

  • Kevin Halpin, Personality of the Year Award – sponsored by CMV Truck & Bus
  • Katharina Attana of Tasman Logistics Services, Female Leadership Award – sponsored by Viva Energy Australia
  • Melissa Scerri of Victoria International Container Terminal, Young Achiever of the Year Award – sponsored by Daimler Truck & Bus
  • Hyzon Motors, Sustainable Environment Award – sponsored by National Transport Insurance
  • iTrazo Tracetech, Application of Technology Award – sponsored by Transport Certification Australia
  • Linfox, Best Practice Safety Award – sponsored by Gallagher
  • CMV Truck & Bus, Investment in People Award – sponsored by Logical Staffing Solutions

VTA CEO Peter Anderson says the association was pleased to have been able to host dignitaries from state and federal governments, along with VTA life members, councillors, and hundreds of VTA members, associate members, and transport industry operators and suppliers.

“Master of Ceremonies Livinia Nixon did another outstanding job hosting the awards segment, stunning guests with her entry into the Crown Palladium Room on a Harley Davidson ‘Fatboy’ to a Grease musical medley by musicians Furnace and the Fundamentals, complementing and setting the scene for the 1950s theme of the evening.

“We are incredibly proud of the achievements of all our award winners, finalists, and nominees.

“It’s been another tough year as we all work to move higher and higher freight volumes, against a backdrop of labour shortages, higher costs, long lead times for trucks and equipment, and inflationary pressures starting to bite.

“So, to everyone that lodged an entry, thank you for taking the time to share your stories because the accomplishments of our industry are significant, and deserve to be acknowledged.”

Furnace and the Fundamentals lead singer Elliot Crane cranks out the tunes

The AFIA Committee extended its sincere congratulations to every winner and finalist with Awards Chairman and VTA President Mike Lean saying the committee looks forward to building on the success of this outstanding event for many years to come.

“On behalf of the Executive Council, may I add our congratulations to tonight’s award winners, and extend our thanks to every organisation that submitted a nomination,” Lean said.

“Setting another new record for entries is a tribute to the operators, suppliers and individuals who give so much, and continually strive for best practice in what they do and achieve.”

Following the presentation of awards, guests were treated to a night of fine food and entertainment from high-energy rockers Furnace and the Fundamentals and DJ Emma, with the dance floor full until lights went up, bringing the evening to a close.

“We look forward to continuing a tradition established some years ago, with AFIA winners and award sponsors gathering in a fortnight for a special luncheon at Melbourne’s Eureka Tower to reflect on the achievements and the award celebration,” Anderson said.

The Australian Freight Industry Awards will return in 2024.


Previous ArticleNext Article
Send this to a friend