Australia, Company News, Transport News

ATA announces National Trucking Industry Award winners for 2024

A variety of industry names, operators and companies have been recognised for their dedication to safety, training and performance at the ATA’s National Trucking Industry Awards

The Australian Trucking Association (ATA) has revealed the winners of its 2024 National Trucking Industry Awards.

Announced at the 2024 ATA Foundation Sponsors Gala Awards Dinner on April 19 in Canberra, as part of Trucking Australia 2024, ATA Chair David Smith was on hand to announce and celebrate the award winners.

“Our award recipients are extremely well-deserving, and we thank all of them for their contribution and commitment to our industry,” Smith says.

“I would also like to thank our award judging panel, led by former ATA Chair David Simon.”

The first award went to Bill Manton of Simon National Carriers in Carole Park, Queensland, who was recognised with the Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry award.

As the national training manager for Simon National Carriers, Manton’s career in the trucking industry dates back to 1982.

The ATA says his integrity, ethics, and dedication to safety and the industry make him a true role model.

The National Professional Driver of the Year award went to Ross Transport’s Joshua Ulbrich.

Based in NSW’s Port Kembla, Ulbrich was rewarded for his deep dedication to the road transport industry.

Ulbrich started his career as a multi-combination driver and driving instructor in the army, which shaped him into a person of exceptional discipline and professionalism – as is shown by his meticulous presentation of Ross Transport’s 2017 limited edition pink Kenworth T909.

With an excellent driving record and his willingness to help others on the road, as well as his work as a volunteer committee member of ‘Truckies against Bullying’, Ulbrich was recognised for his industry efforts.

The next award recognised the National Trucking Industry’s Woman of the Year, with Jenny Fellows of Fellows Bulk Transport in Deniliquin, NSW winning the award.

Image: Alex Catalano/Prime Creative Media

Fellows is an administration manager for the operator and co-owner, bringing more than 25 years of industry experience to her mentor role at Transport Women Australia.

Fellows has also established the Deniliquin Driver Education Program in 2006, turning it into a week-long course that teaches school students how to safely share the road with trucks.

Two winners shared the National Training Excellence Award, with Frasers Livestock Transport from Warwick, Queensland and Hemmant’s South East Queensland Hauliers winning the award.

Frasers Livestock Transport was recognised for its pioneering training standard in the livestock transport sector, working with the Queensland Trucking Association (QTA) to run workshops.

South East Queensland Hauliers (SEQH) was also awarded the gong for its work with freight forwarders and customs brokers, introducing its Road Masters training program to upskill staff.

The TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award went to Marley’s Transport from WA’s Hope Valley.

Having started in a small country town in 1969, the operator has embarked on a TruckSafe journey since 1999, remaining committed to its team’s safety.

The final award went to Denis Robertson, with the Riverstone, NSW industry member taking home the Don Watson Memorial Award.

Robertson was one of the founders of the ATA and was its chair from 1994 to 1996, building an interstate refrigerated freight business in the 1960s. His work has involved calling for a national body to address heavy vehicle crashes, resulting in the formation of the ATA.

Previous ArticleNext Article
  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend